One week from this morning…

18 11 2008

I will be on a flight that left Pittsburgh at 7:45am. Apparently I was on drugs when I booked the flight, because a 7:45am flight means I need to wake up somewhere around 5am. I am NOT, in any way, shape or form, a morning person. I tried once to just stay up all night until my flight. Wow, was that a bad, cranky trip… So I’ll at some point have to get some sleep. Thankfully, I am flying to sunny Ft. Lauderdale, Florida.

100_0020

But, I doubt I’ll see the beach at all… I think we’re going to my sister’s doctor’s appointment the day I arrive… Then we’ll head home and take the Dog for a fun and exciting walk (it’s about this time that I’ll want to beat myself for breaking my camera as I won’t have pictures of the sonogram OR the fun with Dog) Me? FAIL. Big surprise.

idiot1

But that’s just Tuesday… sometime Wednesday, I expect my parents to arrive and perhaps the dreaded in-laws…  And then Wednesday night, we have a fun and exciting outing planned. Sister, her friend and I are going to see Madonna.

madonna1

I don’t know about you, but when I see photos of Madonna concerts, I think ohmigod, she looks like a old woman. I grew up listening to Madonna. I still have cassettes of her music. I know I’ll probably have a good time, and she’s an icon, and I should totally look forward to this… but I’m really not. We’ll be in a suite, thank god. As sister put it, I’ll be in my own “bubble” and won’t have to deal with anyone but her & her friend… definitely a bright spot.

bubble

Then we head into Turkey Day. Where there will be my parents, the in laws, my sister and husband… and me, the Cat and Dog. Yep, single gal here ends up alone, hanging out with the animals. Awesome, isn’t it? I love seeing my family, I really do. Especially since they abandoned me for Florida. And I love my life here in the ‘Burgh. I’m not concerned about my singlehood when I’m at home… but when I’m in Florida, no one says a word, but that fact is jammed into my brain as if I was being lobotomized. Hate it.

c85f230db6d8b90a367ee26148b02e9b070be621

Thankfully, my mom & sister know me well enough that they won’t put me through the hell of Black Friday shopping (we had a bad episode a few years back involving a Kohl’s and lines wrapping around the store). I return home on Friday night. Just in time to get some sleep in preparation for the Yinz Team Turkey Bowl Classic & my shift at the bar. I have zero football ability. We don’t do thinks like “blocking” and “forward passes” in rugby… all I have to offer is amazing ball catching ability and the lateral pass…

110053891__mg_93201

Actions

Information

One response

19 11 2008
Katy

i can’t believe you get to go see madonna. i’m so totally jealous. when my mom saw madonna with her girlfriends a few years ago, she called me and said, “we smoked a joint of marijuana! it was very fun and i took almost two puffs!” ha!

Leave a Reply

