To my sister and brother-in-law (NE)…

24 01 2009

(aka Music Is My Muse three-thousand-four-hundred-and-I-forget-dammit)

I’ve been trying, for a while now, to think of how to write an appropriate tribute to my Sister, like I did for my parents. But honestly, there is so much I want to say that I can’t even bring my mind to figure it out, categorize it and make it into a post… However, just yesterday, something happened that made this post necessary…  even if it’s brief – as a post for my both my sister and her husband, NE.

(fyi, expect to see this song again later, when the baby is born… just fyi, y’all)

A while back, I asked my mom who was responsible for the baby shower. I’ve NEVER been to one, I don’t know who does that, it’s certainly not the husband… I offered to try to do it from Pittsburgh and make invitations, thank you cards and such, just like I did for my sister’s wedding… I love doing that crafty thing, so you know I was up for it. Mom said she’d find out and let me know…

Last night, I talked to my mom about the quilt. Something had been giving me issues and my mom figured it out. She then mentioned the shower… it’s going to be at NE’s workplace (major win!) and I guess my mom and I are in charge… and the she told me the tentative date… March 29th… OH.MI.GOD.NO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

That tournament that is my ‘baby’? Yeah, the shower was planned for the very next day… Sunday. I don’t know how you are, but I certainly cannot clone myself to be in two places at once… Major FAIL. Well, forget rugby, this baby and my family are more important, right? Indeed!

So I immediately got on the phone to the rugby President, telling her what was up. Her answer, “That sucks, but family comes first.” That was what I hoped she’d say. I love that.

Meanwhile, my sister was on the other line… we talked, I told her The Organization now knew the situation and I was “excused” from being there… all was fine… I would be there, on the 29th, who cares about the tournament… Being “me,” I went out and researched invite designs and stuff and sent them off to my sister and mom… I was totally excited!!!

This morning, I got to work, ready to start working and look for flights for the weekend of March 28th, when I saw this:

“I talked to NE and we both would like you, AnnoyedAngel to be able to participate in your rugby tournament.  You work so hard on it, it would be best for you to be there.  He said that the weekend before would be good as well, so let me know if this works as soon as you can so I can tell him.”

Yes, I did start crying at that, immediately… And I immediately replied that that weekend worked for me (it’s when I usually work at the bar, but screw that, I’ll figure that out later. This baby and my sister are more important!!) How great are my sister and NE for recognizing the fact that I had something planned, which I have no say in the date selected, something I was in charge of, that is important to me, and rearranging things FOR ME… I really, really, really love and respect them for that… I realized at Christmas that they both acknowledge how much the two events I plan are important to me and how important that I’m involved in those events.

So we’re confirmed now and my flight is booked… and my quilt is almost ready… I CAN’T WAIT!!!

Anyone who reads this needs to understand, there is very little, on the grand scheme, making me stay here in Pittsburgh… my sister and I grew up not being very near any aunts or uncles… and the thought of this baby growing up and ME not being nearby…  not being there to see every achievement… let alone ANY achievement… it kills me. Really… If it wasn’t for the current economy and job availability, I probably would right now be planning a move to Florida… It’s still a possibility and on the table, but I’ve got to think about it more…

However, I’m sure they know that when this baby arrives, all bets are off and that kid totally overtakes any rugby/social media/friend event ever… In Pittsburgh or if I ever relocate to Florida… I definitely owe them about 2 or 10 or 30 weekends of “visiting” aka babysitting – so they can go out of town and have a weekend together… (especially since my fave dog D ruined their attempts last weekend!!) (and who am I to turn that down? Weekend in Florida with the baby, the dog and the cat? Are you kidding me? I am definitely the winner in that one!)

Thank you Lili and NE… I love you both and I do now owe you a significant number of babysitting nights… And to babysit for you when I visit will be MY honor, honestly. Love you both.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

