Doctor’s Orders

3 02 2009

I am physical proof that when you do not do the following: 1) rehab exercises at home and 2) schedule follow-up visits like a doctor or physical therapist tells you to, you will more than likely suffer extreme pain and lasting results of whatever injury took you to the doctor in the first place.

As I have mentioned before, I have some trouble with my lower back. That issue is hereditary for the most part. However, I also have upper back issues, as a result of my not following doctor’s orders. And ohmigod do I hate myself for not listening now…

In the summer of 1996, I was working as a temp at an office in Ingomar. One day at lunchtime, I found myself in a car accident. I can’t remember where I was going, but I was on Rt. 19 heading South and trying to turn left onto Reichold Road. Back then, only traffic coming North on Rt. 19 had the left turn light to turn onto Richard Road.

So let’s imagine this. In my nifty picture below, I am the car framed in yellow… and I’m headed in the direction of the red arrow.intersection3Back when there was no delayed turn signal to turn on to Reichold, you kind of had to pick your battles. The day of my accident, there was a mini-van in the oncoming turn lane and about 10 vehicles behind it. I could see around the van enough that I saw a break in traffic. I went to turn, and while I was, someone behind the van swerved out and hit my passenger side.

So, there I am (blue object) mid-turn, get hit on my passenger side (star) by the oncoming car (pink) and I re-focus and I’m headed directly into the front of the car coming UP Reichold(green)!!

untitled-1a

I immediately tried to correct my destination and pulled hard on my steering wheel towards the right lane. As a result I pulled everything in the left side of my back, waist up. I went to my chiropractor at the time, but I was just way too smart for that. I went a few times, but then it was time to go back to school, and I just never continued getting it fixed up.

As a result, I guess I might have arthritis running around in my left shoulder… It hurts randomly, especially when it’s going to rain. Or if I sleep wrong… Oh man, is that freaking effing painful… I have tried ice, heat, all kinds of things… nothing helps. 😦

Anytime my current chiro tries to adjust my upper back it doesn’t give an inch. Anytime one of my nice rugby guys tries to give my shoulders a rub after a game, all they feel is solid tension, a huge knot and it never gives way… Ever.

I’ve been having serious upper back pain lately. I guess it’s because of the sewing on a stool rather than a chair. And the way I sleep. But it got bad last weekend and I finally asked the chiro to try to do something. He did moist heat stimulation on the area between my shoulder blades. Proof that the damn left shoulder is done? My right shoulder area immediately responded to the stim. It took about 6-8 minutes to even feel muscle movement in my left.  But when it did move, it felt wonderful, honestly.

I then moved to another machine and another exercise to loosen my back. Normally, my back takes oh, 3 seconds to adjust…. but this time, my chiro took about 10minutes on my back. And he got maybe two tiny adjustments compared to the normal huge adjustment.

I know some people might talk crap on chiropractors, but if you recall that lower back pain I had? It’s GONE. Totally. And the guy that is my chiro? He was my rugby coach a while back. Got me in the best shape of my life. That guy says do this exercise, I freaking DO IT…

I just wish I had listened 12 1/2 years ago so that I didn’t have this incredible pain I live with almost every day. So please, do whatever that doctor tells you. And if it doesn’t work for you at some point, tell that doctor. He’ll find something else that will work. Because honestly, you don’t want the pain I’ve been living with for 12 years. Seriously.

Actions

Information

4 responses

4 02 2009
Burgh Baby

I know you don’t actually believe I will heed your warning, even though I could act as living proof that it is 100% correct. Ugh.

4 02 2009
Brother Anthony

Nice job on the visual aids! Sorry about your pain, glad your lower back is cleared up.

4 02 2009
annoyedangelrants

Lol. Not a chance. Although I’m hoping by posting it maybe I might listen next time. Cause this hasn’t been a fun ride!

4 02 2009
Laura

I know someone who fails to follow doctors’ advice repeatedly, often because it is “stupid” or “unreasonable” and then she wonders why her problems are getting worse and worse.

I’m not saying doctors are always right, because they are human like the rest of us, but when NOT following advice is making you worse, for god’s sake, try following it for once!

Leave a Reply

