Buying liquor outside of PA

20 03 2009

So earlier today I went to Super Target. It was my first time in a SuperTarget. And I realized they probably have beer, and they did. 6 packs, 12 packs, cases. Just like every other state but PA… And they had individual craft & import beers. For $1.50 each. I nearly bought one bottle just so I could have proof of it on my receipt.

Later this afternoon, my sister and I wandered over to the Total Wine store. Total Wine bills itself as America’s Wine Superstore. And based on what I saw? They are not lying. We’re talking 3-4 times the selection of just wine as compared to the the new liquor store in Eastside (by Whole Foods). Heck it could even be more than 3-4 times. I didn’t even see all of it. They have a wine tasting bar where you can taste wine/champagne from 2-6pm EVERYDAY. I don’t think there is someone out there who drinks alcohol who could not go there and find at least 10 things they like.

Bear with these pics, people, they are really bad & blurry. I was rushing and I was totally overwhelmed by this store. PA should be ashamed of the PLCB stores.

Entrance - wine area

Entrance - wine area

Another wine area shot

Another wine area shot

We picked the champagne and then checked the beer aisle. Holy crap:

100_0507

100_0508

100_0509

I  must have been rushed and forgot to take a picture of it, but they have PENN BREWERY beers there, people. By the bottle. And the bottles? ARE CHEAP. The most I think I saw was like $2.79 for a bomber.

I didn’t even venture to the other SIDE of the store because baby momma wanted to go. And I didn’t even make the liquor area. But what I did see? Amazing.

That plus just being out of Pgh, plus having the leader of my Fan Club perch on his majestic chariot not once but TWO times today??? Super win.

his majesty on his chariot

his majesty on his chariot

Actions

Information

6 responses

20 03 2009
dahcheet

That cat is a lot bigger than I originally thought….

20 03 2009
Uncle Crappy

1) Seems like Clyde is pretty happy to see you.
2) That store is beautiful.
3) I have plenty of rants about the PLCB, but in the context the important thing to remember is this: they don’t have to be embarrassed about their stores, because they have no competition.
4) Have fun tomorrow!

21 03 2009
Katy

are you kidding? other states are so lucky. they just have no idea. are there other puritan places like PA? i feel like not even utah is as puritan as us…

21 03 2009
Nick

PA is so retarded when it comes to alcohol. It is really a pain in the ass. I always think it is crazy to see alcohol in grocery stores in other states, but hey, that’s how it should be.

21 03 2009
Dorothee

Thank you for reminding me that I have to get in all the headache-free alcohol buying while I can…

Off to Spec’s!

21 03 2009
burghseyeview

An excellent report from one of the free states! Good job and thanks for the pics, my heavily filtered martini is risen in salute.

Leave a Reply

