Good thing blogging is free…

24 03 2009

You all know I work at My Living Room and have done so for the better part of nearly 8 years. I work there because I don’t live paycheck to paycheck from my “real” job – I live paycheck to tips to paycheck to make ends meet. I NEED that job.

And then today I get a phone call. From Asshat of all people. I call him back and long story short, I have ONE shift left and then I’m basically fired. Apparently my shitty Saturday shift is “great.” And there are others there who deserve my shift. Excuse me? I’ve worked there for nearly 8 years. I’ve been treated like crap, never given a raise, dealt with all of Asshat’s issues that the management doesn’t know about… and they do this to me???

Well guess what? Shit’s hitting the fans kids. Not only am I making all hell break loose in my own way (more on that in a week or two or three), but my last night will be a rugby, social media and Living Room train-wreck-crazy-ass-drunken-dowhatyouwant-circus. You want to throw me away? Go right ahead. I’ll make you regret it. Because I intend to have NOTHING to do with that place after that night.That Mug Club? Whoever takes it over? Good luck figuring that shit out. It’s a damn mess. But not my problem anymore.

I’ve said it before, I was so welcomed by the Yinz Team and everyone I’ve met online and in person through social media things. And I’ve taken them to My Living Room and made sure they felt welcome so that they would come back again and again. And many of them have. Even when I haven’t been there! Many of the Yinz Teamers have also welcomed my rugby teammates that they have met. With open arms and minds. LOVE IT!! And tonight when I sent a rant to Twitter, I immediately received a few replies and a few DM’s… I explained what happened and the response? Overwhelming that my friends would all be there for my last night. And also that some of them wouldn’t go there if I wasn’t there.

I’m incredibly sad about the thought of not working there. So much so that I’m shocked… Partially because of the money issue. I don’t know what I’ll do, but I’ve had some good ideas and opportunities sent to me. And I’ll be honest, it’s one less thing that ties me to the Burgh and used to make me not up & move to Florida… But it’s more so because this new group of people that I convinced My Living Room was OK really ended up LIKING being there…

Most of the “regulars’ at the bar disappear during rugby season. But you know what? I know a few of the Yinz Teamsers were there last weekend while 99% of the women’s team and some of the men’s team was there. Whoo boy… But they were FINE. Regulars? They leave. Yinz Teamers? They stick with it.

I really, really thank my Tweet friends and Yinz Team friends for their messages and support tonight. I didn’t need this right now… I have a huge tournament to run on Saturday. Not that Asshat cares….

You know what really sucks? Sending out this to Twitter, Plurk and my rugby Yahoo groups: Last Shift at My Living Room: Sat April 4th. BE THERE. HANG FROM THE CEILING. I WON’T CARE,  but NO fights. JUST BE THERE AND HAVE FUN.

Tears.

Actions

Information

14 responses

24 03 2009
dahcheet

They don’t deserve you. You don’t need that crap. You’ll find something better that’ll make you happier. I’ll do my best to join the circus that will be your last shift. It’ll be one hell of a night.

24 03 2009
Dorothee

That is unbelievable bullshit and I’m so sorry that they did that to you. @dahcheet is right, they do not – and never did – deserve everything you put into that place. I will be there in spirit for your last night, and won’t darken their door when I get back to the ‘Burgh. *hug*

24 03 2009
PghRugbyRef

WTF? I thought Viking was in charge…

24 03 2009
Katy

it’s pretty much crap, considering many of the other bartenders are slow as molasses. perhaps you could open a sewing school? more worthy of your talent and sans bloody drunk fights…:)

24 03 2009
Uncle Crappy

We will follow our favorite bartender wherever she goes. And if she’s not at Rugger’s, we won’t be either.

24 03 2009
annoyedangelrants

PghRugbyRef: We all did. Apparently he’s been trying to quit and just be a bartender. He wouldn’t call me back last night. Sent me some text messages though.

24 03 2009
PghRugbyRef

Good Luck. I think I can pull some Crago/Rocco strings if you’d like.

24 03 2009
annoyedangelrants

Katy – I’m actually going to try to redesign the patterns for the things I’ve been sewing lately so that I don’t break any copyright laws and if the designs turn out ok, I may as well start selling stuff online. There are bibs out there selling for $20 each!!!!!!

24 03 2009
annoyedangelrants

PghRugbyRef – thanks. I appreciate the offer. I’m waiting to hear what happens tomorrow. I can’t believe my 7 years of service don’t give me some kind of seniority. Or at least a nice little severance package for being tossed out on my a**.

24 03 2009
Laura V

omgwtfbbq!

24 03 2009
annoyedangelrants

Haha. Yeah, exactly. I have NO FREAKING IDEA. But I plan to find out. Everyone has had the same reaction, but I think “omgwtfbbq!” may be the best way to say it! Lol.

27 03 2009
Katy

i don’t get what the bbq stands for in that expression…

27 03 2009
Jen

We’ll be there with bells on, lady!

30 03 2009
spoon

I consider myself to be a well seasoned vet when it comes to bars in Pittsburgh. Honestly I never even heard of Ruggers until I met you and I’m glad I did. I’ve had fun there but like a favorite chef, if she’s not there I’ll travel wherever she is. From the places I’ve been you’re the only bartender that has ever given a shit as to what the customers like. You welcome feedback and just don’t blow it off. You know what the people want and give it to them. In a society seriously lacking customer service and people skills you nail it. Too bad you have had this bullshit to deal with.

You have my support and the SIDT nation girl!

Leave a Reply

