The Return

16 04 2009

I know you’re all reading that thinking, “Oh, good, she got her laptop back!” Unfortunately, that is not the case. However it seems they are having a little more success than we had last weekend.

The Return I’m talking about is my return to My Living Room. I couldn’t post about it because of the laptop… And I know a lot of you were wondering how it went. Well, the first one went well enough that I went back again 2 days later.

I decided to stop in last Thursday when the teams would be there after practice. I’m not going to lie, I was nervous. But I pulled up a barstool and talked to some friends. At some point, I saw that the table behind me was literally covered in glasses, bottles & plates. In the past, this would have caused me to get up & clean up the mess. But this time? I swear I didn’t even give it a second thought. A little while later I realized that I let that little issue slide, and also that I had been at the bar for a while by then and hadn’t even noticed the “little” things I always did. A definite mark in the “Win” column.

I went back again on Saturday after the men’s game. And the same sort of thing happened – I just didn’t notice the things I did in the past. But there was one MAJOR change that I really noticed. I had FUN. Soooo much fun. All. Night. Long. I can’t even remember the last time I had fun & joked around and socialized that much at the bar. Nothing annoyed me. It was awesome!! Now, the barstools are still craptastic & falling apart – BUT that is no longer my problem… unless one of them breaks while I’m sitting on it and I get to sue the bar…

You may recall that some friends said that they were looking forward to seeing me smile more if I didn’t work at the bar… And honestly, I didn’t expect that to come true for them. But it seems that it has.

There was only one glitch in my awesome Saturday. I wandered through the bar and there was Viking – who sadly still has yet to SPEAK to me since this whole thing started. I thought he had left for the night, and I immediately turned around and high-tailed it to my seat.

I spoke to BG a little while later and was informed that Viking feels bad and she asked if I’d go to dinner with her, Giggles & Viking. I think I said no before she finished her question.

You know what? If Viking feels so bad? Maybe he should have picked up the phone and CALLED ME. Maybe he should have been a better friend & co-worker and SPOKEN to me. Maybe he should have shown me significantly more RESPECT than he has. But he didn’t do ANY of those things. He stayed silent and cowardly and I hope that he is left out there to feel bad for a lot longer. And I hope it bothers him.

Because me? As much as I would love to tell him off, I’m going to be too busy having fun and smiling and not noticing all those stupid little things.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

