Happy Meal Toys

29 05 2009

I’m a ridiculous fan of Happy Meal Toys. I used to take them to the bar, I have some on my desk at work and I have a box full of them underneath my desk at work. All of which I obtained well over 3 months ago and before. I haven’t been to McDonald’s in  a LONG time.

Tonight at sevens practice, right when it started to rain, I left practice to drop off a Little C and Me product on the North Side for Dennis. After spending way, way too much time at lights in Bellevue (I love Bellevue, but seriously, this one light – at a strange 3-way plus California Ave intersection – cycled three times & my light didn’t turn green. Annoying.) I managed to not pay attention and ended up over in the Perrysville area of North Hills.

I was starving by the time I ended up there and decided on a McD’s Happy Meal… The toy theme? The new “Nights at the Museum – Battle of the Smithsonian” movie. When I got home, I opened up the little toy. And I immediately thought of Creation Rex. (Now, Rex, I’m just posting this to be informative. Don’t come after the messenger, and all that..)

If you’d like, I can save the Happy Meal toy so you can gnaw on it yourself. Or I can take a hammer to it, your choice, of course.

100_1040

It comes with a “trading card…”

100_1039

I’m sure Rex is not very happy about this, and like I said, he can have it or I can smash it with a hammer on his behalf.

But wait, it gets more ridiculous. The “Rexy” toy? Yeah, it, um, walks…

Well, let’s be honest, this version of “Rexy” doesn’t quite walk as stumble. Or something. I don’t know.

And yes, you are seeing that right. When “Rexy” walks, he has his trading card stuck back near his hip joint. Yes. There’s a little wind-up piece on there. You turn it and nothing happens. Yet, when you insert the trading card in the indicated slot, he walks. I kid you not – proof is at HappyMeal.com (you have to click on “Next” and cycle through two or three other toys until you reach “Rexy.” Then, click on “Demo.”)

So, Rex, let me know what you want me to do with this thing, ok?

Actions

Information

4 responses

29 05 2009
Uncle Crappy

Rexy kind of looks like one of the 18 gazillion sparrows hopping around in my backyard. I can’t imagine Creation Rex is going to be happy about this.

29 05 2009
Dino Wrangler

I’ll make sure Rex hears about this. He doesn’t eat at McD’s because he’d need a 10,000 piece chicken nugget meal.

29 05 2009
PghRugbyRef

We’ve got two of these Rexys at home now, thanks to a Happy Meal dinner last night after T-ball.
More destruction for Creation Rex?
What’s the weapon of choice today, spear?

30 05 2009
Andrea

I get Happy Meals every once in a while because they’re cheaper and not much less food. Sometimes I leave the toys in my purse and sometimes people think that’s weird. I think it keeps me occupied at the doctor’s office, as intended.

And Rexy reminds me of Empire Records, as in “Oh Rexy, you’re so sexy.” I think I may be alone in this thinking.

Leave a Reply

