I forgot to send a card…

9 08 2009

…Oops. Consider this a living card. Here alive on the interwebz, my Lili.

29 years ago, a certain someone spoiled my swimming lesson by choosing that moment to arrive into the world. Yep, we were called out over the loudspeaker at the North Hills YMCA pool, and my dad and I had to rush home to my mom so that my little sister could be born.

(Holy crap, Lili, you’re getting OLD!! We’re now the same age seeing as how God cancelled my birthday again this year.)

I guess I really can’t complain, seeing as how I actually asked my parents for a baby sister. And what do you know? I got one. (As the only child at that point, I *may* have been slightly spoiled.) And over the years I asked to send her back on numerous occasions.

During the past 29 years she has tortured me, taken my toys, annoyed me, been persuaded into buying awful 80’s music at my suggestion, fought with me, entertained me, grown up to be a very capable young woman, gotten married to a great guy who is the best brother in law ever, given birth to the most wonderful baby girl…. the most adorable & wonderful niece on the planet. And finally, after all of that, has truly become a great friend.

Lili: I can’t tell you how happy it makes me that we’ve gotten closer over the past year. You are a great sister and an even better friend. I’d be lost without you, and probably a little insane thanks to The Nana.

I hope that you have a wonderful birthday and get to spend a relaxing day with NE and Little C. I love you dearly and can’t wait to see you next month. (And yes, I’m looking forward to seeing you, not just your kid.)

(I’ll have you know I wrote this whole post with out crying. So there! Hah!)

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

