Beer.

18 08 2009

I’m not a beer person. I’m a rum gal. Beer most often gives me heartburn. My good ole spiced rum does not.

However, with respect to UncleCrappy, Father Spoon & SickPuppy, I truly have tried to broaden my horizons away from Miller Lite or Yinzling. I have found a few beers that my heartburn and I can tolerate. Really.

Bur then I had a chance encounter with one beer has taken me to la-la land. Seriously.

There is a very small (okay, large) chance I am obsessed with this beer. I kid you not.

I shared my growler of Mokah at the Bucco Tweet Up. (It sat in my fridge for a  month or so. I’m so proud that I didn’t drink it before that.) I also drank rum and other stuff. I was fine.

I went camping for my non-existent birthday, and thanks to the Crappys, I had a Mokah to start off the night, then drank rum and Lion’s Head and was FINE. Maybe a bit drunky-drunkerson, but FINE.

But then I found out it was a seasonal beer. And I cried. (Just a little, it’s ok.) I assume my sole love of it will bring it back next spring. Right?

Mokah, from the Southern Tier Website

a stout brewed with chocolate & coffee

When empirical and creative impulses collide, the result is often timeless. The classic utility-art aesthetic of the coffee maker is an example of design and engineering working in concert.

It is through similar cooperation that the simple bitter cocoa bean is transformed into a sweet treat. As scientists, our brewers utilize their materials to exacting standards. As artists, they couldn’t resist the temptation to combine two of our highly acclaimed Blackwater Series Imperial Stouts: Jahva and Choklat. Alone each is perfect, but together as Mokah they are an inimitable expression of two of the world’s most sought after flavors. Enjoy Mokah stout with – or as – your favorite dessert!
11.0% abv • 27º plato • Imperial Stout Brewed with Coffee & Chocolate • 22 oz / 1/6 keg
2-row pale malt • 2-row barley • caramel, chocolate & black malts • roasted barley barley flakes • Jamaican roasted coffee • bittersweet Belgian chocolate • chinook, willamette, cascade & columbus hops

Last weekend at the Sharp Edge, just a few blocks from home, I tried a few new-to-me beers. UncleCrappy swore I was a beer lover. I almost believed him until I had heartburn when I got home. Beer fail.

I was alerted to a Southern Tier sampling at Bocktown Wednesday night a little while ago. Knowing the love of my life is a seasonal, I considered turning down the invite, as I plan to go to Monroeville to JoAnn’s and the batting cages, but I considered searching out more So Tier stuff and maybe help my Brewfest.

I need to go to a JoAnn’s tomorrow. Absolutely. But THEN. Then I get a text telling me there’s a good chance MOKAH is still on tap at Boktown. Really? Really?

I don’t need to go to those batting cages (sorry, Coach.) I really need to go to JoAnn’s and then find me some Mokah. Right? Right.

So for now, that’s the plan. And after that? I’ll be sewing my face off. Hoping to again enjoy some Mokah (one of two bottles smuggled back for me by the Crappys) for Labor Day. Hopefully on a lake somwhere nearby. That’s the potential schedule anyway.

The other one is saved for consolation when I return from Little C’s baptism in September.

Actions

Information

4 responses

19 08 2009
spoon

How much do you love your spoon? How many bottles of it do you want for when you get the shakes?

19 08 2009
annoyedangelrants

hey now… I don’t get the shakes. Yet. I have 2 bottles and don’t plan to drink one until at least after Sept. 14th (when I get home from seeing Little C)

19 08 2009
Uncle Crappy

Wait. Mokah shake? Oooo, that would be good…

19 08 2009
annoyedangelrants

Gosh, I wish I could agree with that. But I had that other chocolate stout with vanilla ice cream, and it was NOT what my sister promised me it would be. Which was delicious. Instead it was gross. Yuck. I’ll take another attempt, but I’m terrified to risk my Mokah with anything but pure love from me. lol

Leave a Reply

