Brilliant!

27 01 2010

I’ve said before that I have a serious addiction problem with fabric & JoAnn’s. I really do. I admit it. That’s the first step, right?

Well part of that problem is JoAnn’s remnant bins. A lovely little area where they put the leftovers of a bolt of fabric. These can be as much as nearly nothing to almost a yard of fabric. All sold at a good, healthy discount.

I always stop by this little area just to see what they have to offer. And occasionally I buy things from the remnants.

The issue with this is that what I buy, I usually have NO use for at the time. But what’s amazing is that after I buy one of these remnants and let it sit there on my table or on my couch, I eventually come up with a use for it…

Like red & white checker-board and plain white table cloth fabric… No use for it at the time, but then a few days later, Lili called and said she’d like plastic-backed bibs to protect Little C’s clothes.  Result? Bibs with the table cloth fabric on the back. And on the front. Win!

Like 8mil and 4mil plastic sheeting. Yet again, no idea what I’d use it for at the time. But with a little cotton fabric & some ModPodge, you end up with plastic coated fabric that can be used in bibs! Win!

And the black chalkboard fabric. Chalkboard fabric? WTH is that?! Who cares. I’ve found a purpose for it and the purpose is freaking brilliant. Amazing!

And did you know you have to prime it? Huh?

You apparently need to rub chalk all over it and then wipe with a soft cloth… Then it’s ready for use. Huh?

Well, no matter, I’ve primed a piece of said fabric for a fun birthday project I’m working on…

Results to come soon. For now, here’s the chalkboard fabric in use, somewhat….

Actions

Information

3 responses

27 01 2010
ClumberKim

I know what I want to do with that fabric. If I could sew. Can’t wait to see what you came up with!

27 01 2010
annoyedangelrants

ooh! you have to tell me what you’d do! I had NO ideas when I found it just before Christmas. I only bought it b/c it was less than $1 for a half yard… took me a month to find an idea!

28 01 2010
ClumberKim

I would make placemats, for home and to keep in the car. Sometimes the wait for food in a restaurant is too long for young kids. This would be an easy way to give them something to do.

Leave a Reply

