Olympics & the un-holiday.

14 02 2010

Woo hoo! It’s Winter Olympics time. One of my favorite things ever. I like the Summer version, but the Winter ones really have my heart.

I really try to watch the opening ceremonies every year. This year was okay. After Beijing, I think it’s going to be hard to do something more breathtaking than they did.

(source)

I did really like how they used the floor and the video cameras. I tried to find an overhead pic of the whales, but couldn’t.  The other one I really loved was this:

(source)

And, I was surprised I didn’t see pics of this DURING the ceremony, but apparently it’s part of the advertising for the Olympics. The Inukshuk

(source)

I’ve talked about that figure before here. The damn Inukshuk is determined that I find my way one of these day.

My mom has always loved watching figure skating. My favorite is speed skating. But really, I’ll watch any winter sport they show. Luge, skeleton, Nordic Combined… whatever. You put it on TV and I’ll check it out.

I managed to watch Ohno’s final last night after I got home. I watched the prelims earlier in the day. But, long track speed skating is my favorite. I watched the men’s 5000m yesterday. And tonight the women start with the 3000m. I can’t wait to see it. (Also, interested to know if you think the women’s thighs are really that much bigger than most female athletes… Please comment…)

In other news, we’re getting more snow. Wonderful. 2-4″ more reasons to want to move away. Great.

Also, I had a wonderful night out Saturday night. We had a very late dinner at Longhorn Steakhouse (steak! nom nom nom) and then saw Crazyheart. (While we both liked the movie, we didn’t think it was as good as the hype…)

And FM even bought me chocolates for Valentine’s Day! (even though I had told him I think it’s an un-holiday.) 🙂 He’s pretty cool. He has now earned his originally requested name of “Rockstar.” We’ll see if he still wants it. lol.

Actions

Information

3 responses

16 02 2010
Burgh Baby

I love, love, love, love the Olympics. I actually (prepare to gasp) wish Lost weren’t on tonight so that I wouldn’t have to miss whatever events end up airing.

And, yeah, they have HUGE legs.

16 02 2010
annoyedangelrants

I feel the same way!! I haven’t decided if I will watch Lost or the Olympics yet. It’s going to depend what they are airing. Since I don’t have cable, I only have to worry about the regular NBC channel, not all the rest of them!

And I’m going to pretend you didn’t say that last part. lol.

17 02 2010
Gina

I loved the whales, too. The opening ceremonies are more amazing every time.

Leave a Reply

