Food.

20 02 2010

I have to say that lately my food choices are fair. Not great…  I have to watch what I buy because I have to carry it home on my back or in the insulated grocery bag that I have.

I had to get groceries the other night. And I’ve been trying to figure out what I can buy that won’t weigh a ton, but will make a decent dinner, and also leave me with some leftovers for the next few days.

And I found the perfect recipe. I used to make this at My Living Room on Sundays sometimes for my co-workers & some friends. It’s super easy, can be adjusted to make more or less as needed, and I figured I may as well share it here…

My sister came up with this while my parents were visiting her a while back. They didn’t want to go out to dinner, so she used what she had at home. I’ve named it Lili’s Ravioli…

This cost me less than $15 to buy all of the ingredients, including the seasoning, which I had run out of.

What you’ll need:

  • 1 pound chicken, cooked with Italian seasoning – I usually buy the tenderloins rather than the full breasts

I got this at Whole Foods for just $1.99!

  • 1 jar Marinara sauce (any one is fine, just not one with meat or meat flavoring.) I usually get this one:

  • 1 bag cheese ravioli (I just get whatever is on sale in the frozen section)

  • 1 large bag shredded mozzarella cheese, or  italian blend

  • Cut the cooked chicken in to bite sized pieces. I usually cut it and then shred some of it as I put things together to make it less chunky & distribute the chicken throughout the whole dish.
  • Prepare ravioli according to package directions & drain. (Note: these suckers are HOT! be careful when you get to the next step!)
  • In an 8×8 baking dish (or larger if you’re making more), layer sauce, ravioli & chicken until all ingredients are used. You might end up with a few left over raviolis

  • Top with cheese and bake at 350 degrees until cheese on top is melted and dish is heated through.

Yummy!! I also took a Ciabatta roll I had picked up at Whole foods and made some garlic bread.

Time for dinner! Woo hoo!

Actions

Information

One response

21 02 2010
Michael Sorg

And…forwarded to my kitchen commando wife…

Leave a Reply

