Tired.

7 03 2010

I need job. Or something. I sew, yes, but that does not a career make. So I’m looking into school such things. Something more like a career than what I’ve had, and something that will take me less than 2 years to complete… (I’d prefer just a year, but I’ll see what comes up.) Medical Assistant. Pharmacy Tech. Radiology Tech…

If anyone knows where I can find salary info/projections for these types of things, please let me know, because I am finding NOTHING.

I don’t know what’s happened to me. During this unemployment time, I have become a potential record-breaking sleeper and NON-sleeper…  Insomnia, to the point that I don’t know what to do to sleep. Then naps, sleeping away the day.

I hate it. HATE. Very, very much hate. With a passion.

My Little C wakes up at the crack o’ dawn. I can’t do this anymore. I want to work, and I want to be able to be woken up with the cheery, smiley face of My Little C the next time I see her. I can’t sleep through My Little C time. Seriously.

I went to a baby shower today, from 1-4pm. When I got home, I felt like I desperately needed a nap. All I did was sit on a couch for 3 hours. (Ok, I did chill for 5 minutes with a cute baby, R, who came along, but it was not exhausting.) Good lordy, baby R? He is s a cutie pie, btw.

Why am I so tired? I don’t DO anything. I should NOT be tired!!!!!!

I didn’t nap, and instead did a little sewing prep work and then got ready to go to My Living Room for a collective birthday party for a few ruggers.

The first mistake was going out at all. Not that I didn’t enjoy seeing some people out & about that I haven’t seen in a long time. But while I did enjoy working at My Living Room, I have always hated being there when it is busy. It got so busy this evening that they weren’t letting people in!!! It was insanity. I stood there, jostled around by others, and I hated it.

The second mistake was wearing heels. Trust me when I say you are not the only ones shocked by this. But I got some fancy brown heels at Christmas from The Nana & The Grand Pa and I haven’t had a job interview to wear them to yet, so I wore them tonight. Bad idea. Bad, bad, bad idea. My feet hate anything that is not my Franco Sarto black heels (I can run in the Franco heels, just saying.)

I came home so early that people worried about me. They thought I drank too much to drive, but I didn’t. I was just so beat and so fed up with:

A) the OMG-so-many-people-in-that-tiny-bar that they had to not let more people inside, and

B) the moron who proclaimed that my rugby tourney in 3 weeks sucks and he’s going to drink the whole time he’s there.  (There were no fewer than 4 people who told that moron that I’m scary and that he should NOT piss me off. The last person who warned him also told me that was his version of flirting. Hello, fail whale.)

I HAD to get out after that encounter.

Also, FM and I are going to the drive-in tomorrow, and if I’m too tired to watch the movies, I’ll beat myself silly. Let alone FM being perhaps upset with me. We LOVE the drive-in!!!! And we haven’t been able to go there in sooooo long!!! YAY!

FM works some crazy 7 days-a-week and crazy 14-hour days lately, and he still makes time for me. Even after working a nearly 14-hour day a couple of weeks ago, he managed to stay awake through dinner & a movie till after 1am… (oh, and he bought me chocolates for Valentine’s Day, even though I think it’s a fake holiday and I told him so.) He deserves some kind of bonus for this, don’t worry, I’m thinking about it!

I’ll be damned if I’m unable to chillax tomorrow with him.

But, chillax we will. This is why I truly enjoy my time with FM. It’s one of my favorite times. There’s usually never alcohol involved, which is great, for both of us! And I think about nothing but what we’re doing – movies, dinner, looking at stars, whatever…

We don’t talk to the same people, but somehow, he’s soooo good at knowing when I need to just go out and not think about stuff. I have NO  idea how he knows these things, and I’m never questioning it. He just knows. And OMG do I appreciate it.

This is why I’m okay with the status of our un-relationship, for those of you ruggers who worry about it and ask about it.  It’s all good, guys. He somehow knows me enough to know when I need to spend time w/ him, and it works for us.

So no more questions, ok?

If things go bad, and I need your help, don’t worry, I will ask, no, DEMAND, it from a certain few of you. Ruggers and online/IRL peeps.

But for now, we’re okay with this.

Thanks, buddy. (Those of you who get that, you know what I’m sayin’. That is all.)

Actions

Information

4 responses

7 03 2010
Laura

Of course I believe everything nice you say about R!

Anyway — I think salary.com is a good starting place to look for that info, though it doesn’t do much more than give you an idea. The other thing I tend to do is to look at monster.com for job postings, and look at the salary ranges on them.

8 03 2010
fatherspoon

When I was in for some tests a couple years ago I got to talkin with the radiology tech and he used to be a programmer. spent a year or so getting certification and said he was making great money. Thought about doing it when I was laid off.

8 03 2010
annoyedangelrants

I think I’m definitely going to look into it some more. I’m getting nothing back from the jobs I’ve applied for, so I need to do something. And it’s a better profession for me especially if I decide to move to Florida at some point.

8 03 2010
Katy

not that this is an option here, but corey’s brother (a programmer) got a job as a drawbridge operator. he made amazing money and, when he wasn’t raising the drawbridge, got to also be programming on his laptop!

Leave a Reply

