Proud.

12 04 2010

Saturday was a kind of sad day. My boys lost their Quarterfinal match against Chicago South Side Irish.

I ran touch for the game, and did my very best to be impartial. I was only heckled by some old boys that were out at the game. Helllooooo Mr. Wilson!!!! And that was kind of funny, to be honest.

I could go on & on about the things that went wrong on our side, their side, the referee, their touch judge. But instead, I’m just going to say I’m so proud of my guys. So. Proud.

In addition to how they played, the thanks I received for helping them set up their field. You’re very welcome, guys…

Gentlemen, you played well and I’m so proud of you.  I can’t wait to see you go further after next fall’s season. I know you can do it.  I KNOW THIS. In my heart. I know it.

That’s how I feel today. Proud of my boys.

And since then, I’ve seen no fewer than three emails from my boys to the their teammates. Exceptionally motivating emails for them to continue to play this season and into the fall.

I can’t lie. I wrote this part of this post on Sunday. And waited to post it. Especially after my convo’s on Saturday, I wanted to see what happened.

And my boys continued to make me proud with the rally emails. I love you guys. And I so appreciate you that have thanked me for what I’ve done. You rock. Thank you.

I don’t know what will happen. I lost my crystal ball a long time ago. But I do truly hope that my boys/men rally and continue to show up and fight. And that it continues into the fall so that they are THE team to beat. I have seen and continue to see so much potential in my men. I just want them to go where the Angels have been.

I want a year from now, when I run touch for the Angels, for someone to mouth off about my guys and for me to able to say, when YOU go to Nationals, like my men and women, call me. That would make my life, to this point, guys.  So let’s do it.

I love my rugby club. No matter what. It’s what keeps me here. It’s my family since I’m not living near them… I received many positive comments in person this past Saturday about my involvement. And some of the things that my guys told me at the field and later on in the evening, left me nearly speechless and so proud of the guys. And I’m mentioning it here so that some day when I feel under-appreciated or someone does something stupid, I can re-read this and know, without a doubt, that they do appreciate what I do.

Thank you, and you know who you are. Let’s keep up this season, don’t quit on me. AND keep it going in the fall so that next spring is even better for us, ok? It would mean the world to you and ME.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

