Cobalt!

22 06 2010

It’s official. I now own a 2008 Chevy Cobalt LT Sedan. Hooray!

I’m pretty sure it is twice as long as the Midgie, so parallel parking should be a fun adventure.

Quick pro/con of the car & the process. I’m going against the grain and doing the Cons first:

Cons

  • I received a call today telling me they didn’t have the paperwork yet. It should have arrived yesterday. And it did… But it was delivered to the Baierl Honda location rather than the Chevrolet one.  Thanks, UPS.
  • I was told I had to come in after 4pm because they had steam cleaned the interior and it needed to dry. I was told it was dry when I was given the key*. Uh, it was NOT dry… Good thing I had a towel in the trunk… It still wasn’t dry when I got home at 7:30pm.
  • The guy I work with was on vacation, so a different sales person handled the paperwork, etc. He got confused part way through… He said he didn’t handle the paperwork end of things… so here’s hoping that everything is in order.
  • They gave me one single key. Just a key – not a key with a remote for the doors etc. The sales man looked for more keys & the remote and couldn’t find it. So now they have to order them for me…
  • The interior of the car wasn’t as clean as I believe it should have been. It’s still a little dusty and there was liquid (from the steam cleaning, I assume) in the front & rear cup holders. Um…

Pros

  • The driver’s seat is super comfy. Even better than the Midgie, and 30,000 times better than that stupid Kia.
  • I love the color. Love.
  • The trunk is so big that I could probably fit a few people in there. Or every single thing that was in the back seat & hatchback of the Midgie.
  • The radio presets allow me to set FM and AM stations right on the radio display so that I don’t have to switch between AM & FM bands to get to the individual presets. Awesome.
  • The radio also has a jack where I can attach my iPod… I just have to figure out what adapter I need.
  • The instrument panel has a “Driver Information Center” that shows me outside temperature & mileage in normal mode, but also shows the fuel range (until empty!), average fuel economy, average speed, engine oil life… Fuel range is an awesome feature for me, since I might have been known to run out of gas in the past… (Not since way before I owned the Midgie, but still…)
  • Automatic Headlamps.
  • It has CRUISE CONTROL!!! We didn’t expect it to have it. But there it is smack dab on the steering wheel. Bonus!

Besides trying to get the seat in the right spot & angle to drive, nothing annoyed me about the car at all… It drives like the Midgie did, but it feels heavier & I guess more sturdy. And the gas & brakes aren’t quite as “jumpy” as that stupid Kia was.

So yeah, I like this car. And besides some jerk changing lanes on McKnight Road – barely fitting between my NEW CAR and the car in front of me, and then hitting his brakes (hello flashbacks to the accident…)  my drive home was quite pleasant.

Actions

Information

6 responses

22 06 2010
PghRugbyRef

Congrats to you!
What kind of input is it in the radio? Simple USB? Stereo Mini? Depending on what you have, I might have a cable for you (in exchange for my flash drive…)

22 06 2010
Beth

Congrats on your new car! 🙂

23 06 2010
annoyedangelrants

ack! That flash drive! I always forget it when I go somewhere & there’s a chance I will see you.

The input looks like a regular headphone jack. Not a USB. I have to look in the manual to see if they provide any more info…

23 06 2010
Uncle Crappy

You need a short cable with a 3.5 mm plug on each end. Five bucks at yer neighborhood Radio Shack.

Congrats on the new ride!

23 06 2010
annoyedangelrants

hmm. okay. thanks. I really like the car so far. And the seats finally dried out. Hooray!

24 06 2010
PghRugbyRef

UC’s right on the cable; just plug it into the headphone jack on the iPod.
If I was really stressing on the drive, I’d make you deliver it to me.
I know you’ll kick butt on the exam!

Leave a Reply

