Invasion.

11 10 2010

Yesterday was the ZombieFest event here in Pittsburgh.

It was also my first Sunday at My Living Room in a zillion years. And when I showed up at 5pm for a BLT, the bar was mostly empty.

And don’t you know, the Invasion of the Zombies happened right as my shift started at 6pm.  (Keep in mind here, I have nothing against the Zombie folk. It was kind of cool to see all the makeup, outfits etc.)

We went from ready to switch employees to holycrapwe’resobusy. So busy, in fact, that we ran out of pint glasses and I RAN. No really, I RAN to Giant Eagle to buy cups. And RAN back. (That was fun…)

And when I got back, around 8pm, I was told we closed the kitchen. We were out of plates. In all my years working at this bar, that has NEVER happened.

We were slammed. More than the past two Saturdays that I worked. Woa.

Finally, things settled down, but we were still busy. The day shift people left, SkaterRat and I were on top of things. The bands started.

The bands continued. Peaches, who was working, on his ONLY day off, finally clocked out and took off. (He still loves me, FYI, even when he looks like he’s ready to kill someone. Whew. I love my Peaches.)

The final band went on, which includes Drummer and another guy who used to work the door at My Living Room, and they reminded the small crowd to tip the bartenders, which made me love them even more. (band folk, that is key to earn the love of the bartenders, just sayin’) (which reminds me, I think there’s a Shiver show coming up that I need to attend.)

After the bands were done is where the fun starts.

First, I get these guys, one after another at the bar, asking if I am me… I kind of freak – I know my old reputation, and I’m trying to hard to bury it – but then they tell me my old regulars told them I was working there again, and they should introduce themselves since I’m a “rad chick.” I nearly died on the spot. Swoon.

Next, one of my old fave regulars, a girl, shows up… and I swear, I thought she was going to faint when she saw me. She was SO happy! These reactions? Make me remember how much I loved working there. And make me so much more dedicated to be that new me at the bar.

And @psylum showed up. Yay!!!!!!! I love that him! He only stayed for one beer, but we talked enough that I’m sure it took him forever to drink that one beer. Love you! And goodness, I missed you. 🙂

And then… Then, techno music comes out of the jukebox. Techno. The guys who played it are oh-so-proud of themselves, and are newer regulars, and had a plan…

Next up? Rick-rolling the bar. Love! Then Huey Lewis (sorry, my request, and they picked one of the cheesiest ones to play.) Then Tracey Chapman. Really? We all agreed we all hate the song… And I think the last was a Simon & Garfunkel…

But then… Miley Cyrus. Party in the USA (is that the right name? IDK. Don’t care, either)

And last? Michael Jackson dance party. All over the place. All. Over. The. Place. Back table? Check. Multiple people out in front of the bar? Check.

It was hilarious. Everyone had such a great time. I loved it. Was I sweaty, gross, and running my butt off? Oh, absolutely. Did I love every second of it? Yes. Would I do it again? Yes.

I can’t wait for next Saturday!!!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

