No Cornbread…

6 03 2011

This evening, I went to see the Carolina Chocolate Drops for the second time, along with two lady friends I met through Twitter. UncleCrappy and MrsCrappy couldn’t make this one.

We met for dinner at Buffalo Blues, and then went for a drink at Kelly’s (my FIRST time there! and I had an AWFUL Mint Julep) before the show at the Kelly Strayhorn Theater in East Liberty.

We walked in to find an first-come, first-seated arrangement. And I spotted three seats together, on the aisle, about four rows back from the stage. We grabbed them. (Grand seats, considering UncleCrappy and I watched from the absolute back of the venue last time and could hardly see the stage!)

The show was part of an event the Strayhorn puts on called the Sunstar Music Festival. A four-day event that showcases woman music-makers, thus why the ticket was $25. The musicians and performers before the Drops were also awesome.

Back to THE show…

I noticed four chairs set up. Last time there were three. Hmmm… And when the Drops walked out, I noticed not one new person, but two. Turns out Justin started grad school and left the band. (Good for you Justin!) Now they have a new guy named Hubby, who also plays a mandolin! And then I saw a random white dude in the 4th chair… His name, I believe, is Adam. Who, after holding a tambourine,  seemed to be playing an imaginary stand up bass. I was so confused.

But, Holy Cow. If I wasn’t working Sunday night, I’d so be going to see Adam’s solo show at Garfield Art Works. But I am working. So anyway, his ability to beat-box, and to mimic (is that the right word? I have no clue!) a slide trombone and trumpet are amazing. I was seriously impressed. He even mimicked the sound of brushes on a drum and cymbals during one song. No, really.  I hope they keep him around. I have no idea what he does in his solo show, as my attempt to load the Garfield Art Works website failed… And I don’t know his last name.

Dom was crazy and dancing through part of the show, even tossing around his guitar at one point. He’s a showman, that one. I love it.

The show was awesome, as I expected. They played some things I haven’t heard before, and couldn’t find on You Tube. Sad. But, they played some faves, including some of mine, like Snowden’s Jig and Hit ‘Em Up Style… But they didn’t play some things I adored last time and that are on regular rotation on my iTunes. Namely, Cornbread and Butterbeans. That song is one I tell newbies to check out! I wasn’t surprised, when I saw Hubby, that they didn’t play it… That was Justin’s song, so when Rhiannon explained why they weren’t playing it, I totally understood. They also didn’t play Salty Dog, which I also like.

I watched Dom play the harmonica for an entire song (including with his nose! I know!) and he flipped it back and forth on his mouth, and never missed a beat. ZOMG.

But overall? It was totally worth the $25 and I’ll definitely see them next time they are in town. Absolutely.

I hope that my ladies that were with me tonight will be there, same with UncleCrappy and MrsCrappy… Oh, And you TOO AndreaDisaster! We missed you all!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

