Midterms & clinical.

13 10 2011

Midterms are over. Whew… Side note: How am I halfway through this semester already? Didn’t I just start last week?

I got a C on my A&P lab practical midterm. Not as well as I thought I’d do, especially since I studied for it way more than Radiology.

Also, I forgot about a quiz that happened after the midterm. Oops. Got a D.

I’m not happy with this, and that just means more studying in my future. And maybe changing how I study for A&P. And maybe I’ll ask my sister for more help, since she is the A&P master in my life… We’ll see. (Side note: I should have asked Lili for help on the muscles and nerves. I asked for help on the skull, and missed nothing on those questions. I missed mostly muscle/nerve stuff. Should have asked…)

Pretty sure I have a B overall in the class so far though.

As for Radiology, I got a 91%, which you’d think would be an A, but it’s not. It’s a B. And I’m happy with that. I missed only 9 questions, and to be honest, I thought I missed ten!

I have a B for sure in that class.

I have been doing pretty great on the lecture quizzes. Mostly B’s, even an A in there! Two C’s and finally a B on the last lab positioning quiz! (Total shocker. I though I bombed the quiz.)

So I’ll carry on as normal with Rad. Maybe study a bit more to up my grade.  I know what to do in the labs. How to position the patient, etc. But the quizzes confuse me, but I did 10% better on the last quiz, which I thought I did awful on! Overall, I’m very happy with how I’m doing in the class.

Onto clinical observation.

I love it. I totally picked the right medical field to enter. I knew this each time I called my family and felt myself smiling when I tell them about my day. And tonight when my friends at work asked me about school, and I found myself smiling and telling them how much I love clinical… Yep, love it.

The people at my clinical site are nice, funny, and kind. All of them that I’ve met. I’m trying to combat my inability to remember names, and have been quite successful so far!

I cannot, and will not share much about clinical. Now or later. Right now, I basically follow a 2nd year or a radiology tech around and watch what they do. You see a LOT of stuff, and I still love it. I’m pretty sure I’d rather work in a hospital environment when I’m employed rather than a private office. I enjoy the randomness of it.

And I love it. I really do. I’m so happy I made this choice. Even if it’s hard work to be studying 24/7 (or so it seems) and have no social life in any way.

Best choice ever. And the best part ever? My parents are proud of me. As is Lili. And NE.

Some day, I will have to explain this to Little C. Right now? I observe at a doctor’s office and will help to take pictures of people’s insides. Uh. Yeah. Lili and I have to talk about this, since Little C will eventually have to talk about this.

All in all, I’m seriously happy I made this choice. I’m loving every minute of it. (Well, except for the fact I crash on school nights by 10pm at the latest, and wake at 6am 3 days/week… But I’m getting used to it!)

Funny thing is, I’ll probably work nights when I get a job as a Rad Tech. Some people hate that. And have said so. Me? I’m like OMG PLEASE TO GIVE ME THAT JOB!

We’ll see.

Loving it so much and so hard right now. Best choice ever. I’m ridiculously happy even though all I do is study and work. Super happy.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

