Big Sister Behavior.

30 07 2012

And I am a Big Sister. To Lili. And now, Little C is a big sister to G-man….

So… I’ve tried every time I see Little C lately, to help her be a good big sister. It’s hard. So hard.

Mommy loves you, but she has to re-direct most of her attention to your sibling, boy or girl. And those small little sisters or brothers? They need a lot of attention. If you’re three at the time, or five as I was.  It’s really hard to be a good big sibling, with only two of you. I know this. I lived it.

So, The Nana fed me some info that C wasn’t being so nice at bedtime.

I told The Nana I would withhold the Big Sister Date. It’s really a big deal for Little C and I. It’s an EVENT! But Nana said withholding stuff didn’t work.

So, I sent Lili a message. If Little C continued her behavior, I would cancel our  Big Sister Date. It’s our day, to go eat lunch out, go the playground, spin stories and have a blast… I honestly did NOT want to cancel it, but if she continued biting and hitting? I would be a bad Aunt to let this go.

I would cancel our date. Not only our date, but A BIG SURPRISE I had for C.

Turns out, Lili told Little C about this message.

The response was not what I wanted. I talked to Lili today… She said when she told Little C, she cried and thought I didn’t love her anymore. Lili told her there was nothing she could do, ever, that would make me not love her. (that is 100% true) But that I wanted her to be a better Big Sister…

It makes me sad that Little C thought I wouldn’t love her. She is the human I love most on the planet. I told her so, earlier tonight.  And she told me she was a good girl all day today!

I can’t wait to see her face, running to me, in the Ft. L airport on Wednesday afternoon. It will be the best feeling ever, to hug her. And then to hug her brother. My tough guy, G-man. Or my monkey. Good grief, that boy is going to test my endurance it seems.

And then to hug my sister.

And my girl, Little C and I, we will have our date… because she is a good girl. A very good little lady.

Then, I will give them my surprise. It’s not someone in person. It’s just me and someone who really wants to tell G-man happy 1st birthday!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

